What is your name and where are you from?

My name is David Venturi. I was born in Toronto, Ontario and grew up in a nearby town called Oakville. I've spent the last six years traveling across Canada living in Eastern Ontario, British Columbia, and Alberta for school and work.

Where did you go to school?

I went to Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario. I finished my last course in August 2016 and graduated with a BSc in Chemical Engineering, a BA in Economics, and a professional 8-month internship. A few months before graduating, I started creating my own Data Science Master's Degree with the help of Udacity, edX, and Coursera.

How did you get involved at school?

I played my favourite sport at the varsity level as outfielder and captain of the Queen's baseball team. Designated captain after my first season, I initiated the rebuild of the program after it nearly folded.

I was also a team representative for the Varsity Leadership Council, an executive member of the Queen's International Hockey League, an Engineering Orientation Week leader, a buddy in the Engineering Buddy Program, and a food prep/server at the local meal centre.

Where have you worked?

Content Developer @ Udacity

Location: Toronto, ON (remote)

As of May 2017, I'm creating and teaching courses at Udacity, first for the Data Analyst Nanodegree program.

Economics & Scheduling Intern @ Shell Canada

Location: Scotford, Alberta (45 minutes outside of Edmonton)

My learning curve at the Scotford Upgrader was a steep one - within two months of starting I was performing the full-time role of Production Blender. I was scheduling the mixing and shipping of large volumes of crude oil (daily value of up to $25 million). I had operations, engineering, finance, joint venture partners, and pipeline companies on speed dial, all of us collaborating to get product out the door.

Engineering Technical Summer Student @ Teck Resources

Location: Elkford, British Columbia (45 minutes outside of Fernie)

I completed a variety of projects for the Process, Mechanical, and Electrical Engineering departments at Teck's Greenhills processing plant. I also volunteered as assistant coach of the 12U Elkford Little League baseball team - a rewarding and nostalgic experience. Living in Fernie (the only city fully encircled by the Rocky Mountains and home to some of the best mountain biking and fly fishing in the world) was a nice bonus.

Summer Intern @ Institutional Limited Partners Association (ILPA)

Location: Toronto, Ontario

My first "real" job. Fresh out of my first year of university, my peers were no longer my teenaged friends but instead Managing Directors of pension funds, endowments, and insurance companies that cumulatively managed over $1 trillion in private equity investments. I was nervous at first, but I survived the trial by fire and represented the association well enough to be asked back for two more summers. A summary of my three summers in Toronto:

  1.  Attracted new and satisfied existing ILPA clientele. Produced statistical reports using internal data and acquired Excel chops in turn.
  2.  Co-led the association's data transfer process to new association management software. Data cleaning and munging galore.
  3.  Created a new tracking system to improve the management of potential new members and sponsors. Trained the ILPA HQ team to use the system through an interactive presentation.


I love learning. The progress that online education has made in the past few years is exciting. This quote from Udacity's mission statement resonates:

Our mission is to bring accessible, affordable, engaging, and highly effective higher education to the world. We believe that higher education is a basic human right, and we seek to empower our students to advance their education and careers.

Education is no longer a one-time event but a lifelong experience. Education should be less passive listening (no long lectures) and more active doing. Education should empower students to succeed not just in school but in life.
— https://www.udacity.com/us

I like sports and numbers and the combination of the two. Baseball and hockey are my two favourites. Golfing with friends and family is the best. I have played the piano since I was a little kid and enjoy picking up a new piece every few weeks.

If you would like to know more about me or if you would just like to chat, shoot me a message using any of the links below!